Students

Combined for 10/21 and 22

I was only able to attend yesterday from 12 to 1:45, so I am combining my blog post for the two days.

Yesterday I was reminded about the concept of thinking outside the box and how that process can change over time and based on context. The 9 dots activity was not new to me. I’ve done it and used it several times over the years, but have to re-think how to do it every time. Sometimes it’s easier than others. Yesterday I wasn’t able to complete it at all, even though I knew it involved going outside of the dots. There’s a lesson there for me. Assumptions, past experience, and knowledge of the underlying intent are often not enough to inform a solution. Also, that challenges are often better solved in community.

Today, synchronicity showed up for me again. Lately I’ve been involved in a couple of ongoing conversations about cultural appropriation and how we might define it. Part of the definition we came up with was loosely relatable to transactional culture, though it would take some conversation for me to explain it well. For now it’s just a vibe that I will need to reflect on in order to articulate it well.

I look forward to being able to make up yesterday’s session so that I can see if I have an accurate picture of “cultural integration,” especially as it related to this yoga training.

That’s all I have for now.

Leave a comment