Students

Community Care Reflection 3/9

Wow! As a YROL Flight 5 alumnus, being back in this space was nostalgic, but it also brought up a lot of feelings that I did not know I was still holding on to.

I reminisced on the weekends that I spent on zoom with my cohort and how it became one of the only spaces where I felt safe to be vulnerable. Once we graduated, I found that spaces like this were nearly non existent, and wellness spaces where I thought it was safe for me to be myself, ended up being more harmful to my mental health.

I knew that if I wanted to show up this weekend and be in community with flight 6, I had to let down the guard that I once again built. I’m learning that part of being in community means being honest with myself and with those around me, truthfulness. During flight 5, I often had to be called out and prompted to speak, and being a person with a lot to say, I was going against my own authenticity by being quiet.

As I’m working on my mental health, and stepping fully into my power, I’m learning to speak my truth with clarity, conviction and care. Knowing that my words do not have to be validated to have an impact, the fact that I have something to say is already enough.

Misha

Leave a comment