Students

***Disability Justice***11/18

Brief review and thoughts of interview with Dustin Gibson.

Trauma related events that happen to our ancestors in past are still either happening or still causing some effect. Our ancestors and people today want to feel protected with disabilities by having rights and feeling valued. There are plenty of examples in black leaders in history not being valued. If a person is not valued in general, it’s a further injury to the collective to not honor the disability. Dustin gave several examples of current black people and generations before of ancestors not being honored with disabilities.

This gets me to thinking about how I can honor folks within my yoga practice that have disabilities. I can offer options of asanas within my practice. I can offer safe discussion about how folks are feeling about poses, breath and movement. Most importantly I can honor and provide safe transitions of movement for my students with disabilities by communicating in a way that promotes freedom from the oppression of the disability.

Leave a comment